
Another view. This is a simultaneous catch imo.
BSPN and the like are once again not doing their homework.
No it is not. The ball is against he defenders chest. The receiver has his hand across the defenders arm.
He did a good job of catching the WR though.
And when on the ground as they roll, you can see the defenders body go between the WR and the ball. So even if the WR had both hands on he ball, he has no control over it while the defender has it, but touches the defender down.
Except its not against his chest - its against Tate's hands/arm, which are between the ball and Jenning's chest.
In fact, by the time they reach the ground, Tate clearly has _both_ hands around the ball, and between it and Jennings.
Look at it from the beginning of the gif you posted. The ball does touch Jennings right hand first, but that is literally microseconds before it also touches Tate's left hand. Jenning's initial 'control' on the ball is to pull it against Tate's hand (and vice-versa). And they both then grab it with their other hand. You cannot really argue that Jennings showed real 'control' before Tate had both hands on the ball as well.
Neither makes an independent move with it until they are lying on the ground wrestling over it.
That is a simultaneous catch, within the parameters that referees are expected to make a judgement call.