
Another view. This is a simultaneous catch imo.
Again, the key to me is whether the important phase is when the ball is initially caught, or when the catch ends.
When the ball's caught, Jennings has 2 hands firmly on it. Tate has the fingertips, maybe the palm of his left hand on the ball, and his right hand has Jennings' arm.
By the time they hit the ground Tate has readjusted his grip and has at least his right and probably both hands on the ball.
As I'm reading the rule, Jennings is the first to establish control, before Tate has a reasonable grip on the ball. That's not simultaneous. If the only time that matters for "gaining control" is when the catch is completed, then that does seem simultaneous. But I've always thought gaining control is the beginning of a catch, not the end.