Wait, isn't that a goaltend with the center hitting the rim on the shot??
It should have been. Looked like Landale touched the rim as Jaylen put up the ball.
He did...
Not to worry. It will show up in the NBA's two minute report. That will fix everything *cough*
My understanding of the rules is that's absolutely considered basket interference and goaltending.
If they actually admit that it was a missed call, the final seconds/OT should absolutely be replayed and made up after the basket went in. That's a go-ahead bucket that the refs missed that was blatant.
Does anyone have a video of that last shot? I would love to rewatch that and see if the Spurs touched the rim.
https://twitter.com/NBCSCeltics/status/1478922003650420736
Not up close view, but even from this far you can tell he definitely forearms the rim pretty hard as the ball is shot by Brown.
Thanks! TP
Yeah,Poetlt definitely hit the rim as the shot went up. You can't do that.
Apparently, you can.
So I looked it up. These are the two rules governing this situation (
https://official.nba.com/rule-no-11-basket-interference-goaltending/):
"Section I—A Player Shall Not:
A) Touch the ball or the basket ring when the ball is sitting or rolling on the ring and using the basket ring as its lower base or hang on the rim while the ball is passing through.
H) Vibrate the rim, net or backboard so as to cause the ball to make an unnatural bounce, or bend or move the rim to an off-center position when the ball is touching the ring or passing through."
Technically, it doesn't seem like (A) applies, as the ball was bouncing off the backboard rather than on the rim at the time he hit it. But (H) could definitely apply with as hard as he hit the rim. Would need a closer view to see if it moved the rim.