« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2013, 04:15:48 PM »
If Boston traded Pierce to the Cavs (for the draft picks and no salaries) and Lee to Memphis (for their trade exception) in the same trade - something like Pierce to Cleveland, Lee and 33 to Memphis, and 31 to Boston - would Boston then have a trade exception of the 20+ million or two separate exceptions of the 5 or so and 15+?
Separate.
What is the cite to that? It just seems odd that if in one trade you trade 20+ million in salaries and take nothing back that you wouldn't just have 1 trade exception.
According to Larry Coons CBAFAQ:
If a team has two trade exceptions from previous non-simultaneous trades, they can't combine them into one larger trade exception. Suppose a team trades a $5 million player for a $4 million player (generating a $1 million trade exception) and separately trades a $3 million player for a $1 million player (generating a $2 million trade exception). They cannot combine the two into a single $3 million trade exception. A rule of thumb is that a trade exception can only be used to acquire a player making up to the amount of the exception plus $100,000.
This isn't a separate non-simultaneous trade. It is one trade. In fact, reading that it would seem to me that you could combine them if they are in the same trade.

Logged
2025 Historical Draft - Cleveland Cavaliers - 1st pick
Starters - Luka, JB, Lebron, Wemby, Shaq
Rotation - D. Daniels, Mitchell, G. Wallace, Melo, Noah
Deep Bench - Korver, Turner