Author Topic: Paul Pierce: Toughest Player in NBA?  (Read 2281 times)

Paul Pierce: Toughest Player in NBA?
« on: March 22, 2009, 06:00:21 PM »

Offline bballdog384

• Jaylen Brown
  • Tommy Points: 65
  • Rondolope
I'm a college student and currently got into a discussion with my friends about Paul Pierce. Pierce has suddenly shifted from one of the most underrated stars in the game to one of the most hated players. Once I said that I thought Pierce was the toughest player in the NBA, my friends flipped out and said he was a fake.

Pierce began his career by getting stabbed multiple times in his back and neck. For years he was leading the league in foul shot attempts per game. He risked life and limb for the Celtics, even during rough times. Pierce has never gotten a break from officials and has never received the same special treatment from the league as Kobe and LeBron. I remember a game a few years back where he was thrown down so hard driving to the hoop that he chipped his teeth on the floor in the process.

I believe that all of the doubts about Pierce stem from his injury in the NBA Finals. How can so many people think that he faked that injury? Imagine playing your whole life for one moment, only to get there and get injured. Imagine what must have been going through Pierce's mind. What turned out to be just a sprain appeared a lot worse, causing the trainers to not let Pierce walk on the knee until he was examined. His comeback in that game was one of the most emotional moments in NBA history.

What does everyone here think about Pierce and his toughness? Is there any other player in the NBA that you would say is more tough than Pierce? And what are some moments/plays/youtube videos that show how great our captain really is? 
"You can't play like a robot" -Coach Stevens

Re: Paul Pierce: Toughest Player in NBA?
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2009, 06:08:09 PM »

Offline KungPoweChicken

• Bailey Howell
  • Tommy Points: 228