Author Topic: The Celtics, Aristotle, and What Little I Remember of Philosophy Class  (Read 1340 times)

Offline PhoSita

• NCE
  • Robert Parish
  • Tommy Points: 2182
I'm reading yet another recap of a Celtics game.  A game that the Celtics lost.  And one of the key themes of that recap is "The Celtics took a lot of bad shots," and "The Celtics just made a lot of bad decisions," and "When they started to get behind, they rushed and tried to make individual plays."

I had the profound wisdom when I was an undergraduate to choose to major in Philosophy (I also majored in English).  I can't say that I remember a lot of what I supposedly learned. 

One class I remember fondly is Aristotelian Ethics.  I remember it fondly, but I don't remember the content of the class super well.  I remember having to pay very close attention to how Aristotle carefully and meticulously structured every one of his arguments. 

An idea that has stuck in my mind, and that is probably not an entirely accurate reflection of Aristotle, is the notion that a person's character is comprised of the habits they form.  Habits are formed by doing the same thing, the same way, consistently over a period of time.  Initially we may choose to do something a certain way, and then eventually it becomes who we are.

Virtue is not the same thing as habit; virtue is a mean between two extremes.  Virtue is doing a thing the right way.  The only way to have virtue is to actively choose the appropriate mean.  It is not an automatic or instinctual thing.  You have to choose to do it, every time.  But being a virtuous person, having virtuous character, requires habituating oneself to making that choice.  Being in the habit of actively making the right choices makes it easier to make the right choice.  Especially when the situation you're in makes choosing the right thing difficult.

The Celtics should spend some time learning Aristotle.