Author Topic: A question on my Professional Life.  (Read 4774 times)

A question on my Professional Life.
« on: November 26, 2016, 10:01:27 PM »

Offline BDeCosta26

• Bill Walton
  • Tommy Points: 232
It may seem like a strange venue to ask this question, but I've come to know CB as a great place to discuss almost anything so I wanted to know some other people's opinions.

For some back round, I'm a 25 year old professional chef. I got my 1st dishwashing job when I was 13, and I fell in love with cooking. After that, I graduated from a Voc-Tech HS in Culinary Arts and have spend the past 12 years of my career working my way up from dishwasher to prep cook, from prep cook to line cook and from line cook to Sous Chef. I've cooked in every type of environment from little mom and pop diners to high end Boston/Providence restaurants. Over the past 4 years I've been the Sous Chef (2nd in command) at two different high-end country/social clubs in RI and MA. Both of these were good, salaried positions ranging around the 37/45K$ mark.

Now, This weekend I was offered my very first Executive Chef position at a mid-level Providence restaurant. It's easily the best job I've ever had at 64K a year, and it's the perfect opportunity to really put my stamp on a place and take the jump to the next level of my career. It's not exactly every day someone reaches Executive Chef at 25 years old, and if anyone is equipped to do it, it's me. I've worked countless 50-60 hour work weeks, I've killed myself to earn every promotion, every extra dollar or two an hour, and I'm really excited. It's an opportunity I'd be a fool to pass up.