Author Topic: Bball coaching advice  (Read 10326 times)

Bball coaching advice
« on: October 16, 2008, 07:49:32 PM »

Offline cdif911

• Antoine Walker
  • Tommy Points: 43
ok - I'm in a pickle.

I've been coaching freshmen basketball for 4 years, 1 under an old coach and 3 under a "new regime" - the middle school coach just quit, and the new regime is seeing this as an opportunity to bring another one of "their guys" in... they want to bump me to middle school.  I have zero desire to coach there - I don't connect well with the population, they tend to fool around, etc. not a fan.  I really want my spot, and feel disrespected because I do a good job. If I put up too much of a stink though it can affect me in other ways, retribution towards my teaching would not be cool.

Option  B - I was telling the varsity girls coach and she basically offered me the freshmen girls job - now I've never coached girls, so I'm a bit apprehensive, but at least I feel wanted.

So do I coach middle school, be unhappy, but be a part of the program I feel I've helped build (albeit in a diminished role imo) or join a new program where I'll be working with a whole new demographic... ?  advice would be awesome
When you love life, life loves you right back

Re: Bball coaching advice
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2008, 08:12:28 PM »

Offline Greenwood

• Oshae Brissett
  • Tommy Points: 5