Author Topic: Here in Houston they are on fire for Rondo  (Read 26067 times)

Here in Houston they are on fire for Rondo
« on: May 11, 2014, 12:52:05 PM »

Offline ctrey

• Jaylen Brown
  • Tommy Points: 110
It is the topic regarding the Rockets down here. "How can we get Rondo?" "We get Rondo and we can compete for a title." This just will not go away, between the Celtics-Rockets front office/coaching connection and the Rockets desperate need at point, this will go on till the cows come home.

Now what I find strange about this is that I do not get why would we would want Omar Asik. Yes I know the analytics folks like him (not love, like) but I feel like he would be just another plodding player we seem to always have. My major issue for years is how slow we are. We get roughed up by athletic teams and really need have a bit more "get up and go" on our roster.

Additionally, I think Asik was great playing within Thibodeau's system but otherwise has not been all that great. I am not averse to trading Rondo but for a package anchored by Asik is not appealing in the least.

I understand the Celtics need for a rim protector, however it is a bit ironic seeing that we continue to draft under-sized players, players who are slow, players that have no vertical game. You pick Bradley, Johnson, Sullinger, Melo, Olynyk  and what do expect honestly? Each of them had some sort of physical limitation or in the case of Melo and Johnson, could not play the game.

If we trade Rondo to Houston we will not get back equal value. That is a rule you are not supposed top break.

Re: Here in Houston they are on fire for Rondo
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2014, 01:23:24 PM »

Offline jambr380

• K.C. Jones
  • Tommy Points: 1763
  • Everybody knows what's best for you
I agree with you that we will not get back equal value in a Rondo to Houston trade - another team would absolutely have to be involved.