Author Topic: Luxury Tax idea  (Read 1654 times)

Luxury Tax idea
« on: July 20, 2022, 10:58:05 AM »

Offline CFAN38

• Antoine Walker
  • Tommy Points: 420
I am by no means a cap expert but I had a thought after reading this article.

https://www.nbcbayarea.com/news/sports/nbcsports/joe-lacob-nba-luxury-tax/2947801/#:~:text=All%20that%20spending%20led%20to,NBA%20title%20in%20eight%20seasons.

While I am in No way a fan of the warriors I appreciate the amazing job their front office has done. They hit 3 home runs in the draft with Steph, Klay, and Green. They had a nice pick that they had to let leave in Barnes in order to land Durant. In general they have done a nice job developing players.

The luxury tax hits them really hard given their big 3 combines to make over 114 million this season.

I wonder if the league would ever adopt a "tenured player Luxury tax exception". Lower the over all luxury tax threshold but allow up to 3 players who either have 5 years of tenure with the team they signed their first contract with (drafted by, traded for on draft day, or signed out with as a UDFA) or 8 consecutive season with their current team.

For the players association this could raise the salaries of tenured players and help get veterans get min bench roles rather then cheaper younger players. It would also put more pressure on teams to develop their young talent and not cut loose failed draft picks as quickly.

For the owners it will allow winning teams to be developed not just bought. Hitting on 2-3 draft picks would mean a foundation could be built that keeps a team in contention without the fear of the tax. This could also slow down the league star movement. When a super star leaves their tenured team for a new destination the new team will be handicapped by the tax. 
Mavs
Wiz
Hornet

Re: Luxury Tax idea
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2022, 11:06:15 AM »

Online Roy H.

• Forums Manager
  • James Naismith
  • Tommy Points: -25629
  • Bo Knows: Joe Don't Know Diddley