Author Topic: Gino!?  (Read 8111 times)

Gino!?
« on: April 24, 2008, 10:10:33 PM »

Offline zerophase

• Bailey Howell
  • Tommy Points: 334
  • Anything's Possible
Whats the story with this guy? I know thats they play it at the garden when we win as our new victory cigar but is he even a real musician? where did all this originate from? i did a quick google search and came up with nothing.

Become Legendary.

Re: Gino!?
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2008, 10:12:05 PM »

Offline Redz

• Punner
  • Global Moderator
  • Bill Russell
  • Tommy Points: 3766
  • Yup
Yup

« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2008, 10:28:08 PM »

Offline Bahku

• CB HOF Editor
  • Bill Sharman
  • Tommy Points: 3632
  • Oe ma krr pamtseotu
Whats the story with this guy? I know thats they play it at the garden when we win as our new victory cigar but is he even a real musician? where did all this originate from? i did a quick google search and came up with nothing.

Really glad you asked, because I've been a musician for most of my life, and the real Gino Vannelli has been by far my greatest mentor/musical inspiration. His music is like no one else's, and he is revered among musicians as one of the foremost musical geniuses alive today.

He has recorded many, many albums ... each with a different flavor entirely, produced for many other musicians, and is a prefectionist in the studio of the highest order. The guy in the video played at the Garden, that's so popular, is NOT Gino Vannelli, but just a guy with a t-shirt on from the Gino Vannelli 1976 Brother To Brother album tour, (which I went to in Boston).

The real Gino, as a result of the popularity of this video, has produced new t-shirts that honor that original t-shirt and the Celtics, and the proceeds he donates to the Shamrock Foundation. Gino Vannelli really has no equal in his level of musical genius today, as a songwriter, lyricist, musician, (he plays drums, guitar, piano, etc.), recording engineer, producer, singer, and so on.