Author Topic: Do nothing  (Read 5487 times)

Do nothing
« on: May 08, 2013, 04:22:15 PM »

Offline droopdog7

• Paul Silas
  • Tommy Points: 466
I am thinking, that this would be the best option for now and the future.  Think about it.  PP is on his last year.  And he is clearly declining.  We could save some money by buying him out or cutting him but not by trade.  I have come around to the idea of at least giving him the opportunity to retire a Celtic.

They say KG's decision is tied to PP but I am not convinced that even if we trade or cut PP, that KG he will retire or allow a trade.  We then would be with no PP but still no room to sign anyone either.

Still not really sure we can get much of value for PP and KG.  Most good teams don't have young players worth the investment and the value of our two guys is certainly going down.  If teams were not willing to trade before, they would probably be less inclined to do so now. 

And forget about trading guys like Terry, Bass, and Lee.  Teams are not going to give up valuable cap space for these guys.  And we wouldn't get much in return in the form of players.

And as some have suggested, even without PP and KG, this team still could make the playoffs (or at least contend for the playoffs).  So on top of the fact that the draft is a crapshoot, we likely still will not have a very high pick.

So, I think the best thing to do is nothing.  Welcome everyone back, fill in the roster for anyone leaving with minimum guys.  Make the playoffs next year and allow PP's contract to expire.  Determine whether KG wants to retire then.  Don't try to take in major contracts via trade or the midlevel. 

Then go from there.

Re: Do nothing
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2013, 04:33:02 PM »

Offline Monkhouse

• Paul Silas
  • Tommy Points: 814
  • A true Celtic plays with heart.