Author Topic: Backup PG will be the hardest to fill  (Read 2628 times)

Backup PG will be the hardest to fill
« on: July 20, 2009, 07:51:33 AM »

Offline fairweatherfan06

• Jaylen Brown
  • Tommy Points: 42
This offseason.  I've always said that.  There are plenty of bigs and wings available to fill out our bench still, but I don't like anything that's left (that the Celtics can afford) on the FA market as far as backup PG's.  What PG's can be had by trade that meet our needs.  The two I came up with are:

1) Antonio Daniels- 6"4 can shoot, doesn't turnover the ball and is experienced, plus he plays for NO that is in dire financial straights and they may not want to pay 6.5 million a year for a guy that will only play at most 10 minutes a game since Chris Paul plays around 40 minutes every game.

2) Luke Ridnour-similar attributes and salary to Daniels and probably not in the teams future plans after having drafted Jennings (though they  may still want him around if the Knicks really do throw the MLE at Sessions and they don't match)

But both these guys are expiring and fit our needs is there anyone else you can see us trading for at backup PG?

Re: Backup PG will be the hardest to fill
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2009, 09:15:13 AM »

Offline P2

• Bailey Howell
  • Tommy Points: 163
  • Green 18!
1) Antonio Daniels- 6"4 can shoot, doesn't turnover the ball and is experienced, plus he plays for NO that is in dire financial straights and they may not want to pay 6.5 million a year for a guy that will only play at most 10 minutes a game since Chris Paul plays around 40 minutes every game.

So why would we "want to pay 6.5 million a year for a guy that will only play at most 10 minutes a game since Rajon Rondo plays around 40 minutes every game"?

But both these guys are expiring and fit our needs is there anyone else you can see us trading for at backup PG?